This site will walk you through the steps necessary to properly prepare and return your devices to Apple Financial Services. These steps are critically important to follow. If the devices are locked or not reset, AFS cannot assess them accurately and therefore you may not receive the appropriate value for your devices upon return. If you have any questions, you can always call +65 6645 4588 or email us at salesSGHK@dllgroup.com and we will be happy to help you through the process. Please have your account number, invoice number, contract schedule, or serial number ready.

For information on what to do before you return your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, visit the device user guide.



For iPhone, iPad and iPod touch select one of the methods below
Quick Start: Use your iPhone or iPad that's already running iOS 11 or later to automatically set up a new device.
iCloud: Transfer your data and purchased content to your new device from your previous device's iCloud backup.
iTunes or Finder: Transfer your data and purchased content to your new device from a backup you made with iTunes or Finder.

If applicable, please make sure to Dis-Own all devices from Apple Business Manager / Apple School Manager. It is extremely important to deactivate from Apple Business Manager / Apple School Manager prior to shipping a device back. Please access the system initially used to enroll in the Apple Business Manager / Apple School Manager program and follow the below instructions. Devices returned while still enrolled in Apple Business Manager / Apple School Manager are not usable and can be assessed damage fees.

  1. In Apple Business Manager / Apple School Manager, sign in with an account that has the role of Administrator, Site Manager, or Device Enrollment Manager.
  2. Click Devices in the sidebar, search for a device in the Search field, then select the device from the list. See How to search.
  3. After you’ve searched for the devices, select the total number of devices at the top of the list, then click *eject button*
  4. Carefully read the dialog, then click Release Devices.
  5. Carefully read the additional dialog. After you release a device, it is removed from Apple School Manager and can’t be assigned to an MDM server.
    Note: You can always add iPhone, iPad and Apple TV devices back to Apple School Manager using Apple Configurator 2. See Assign devices added from Apple Configurator 2. Mac computers can’t be added back with Apple Configurator 2.
  6. Check the box, “I understand that this cannot be undone,” then click Release. A new activity releases the devices. You can wait for the activity to complete, or click Close to close the window.
  7. Verify that the devices have been removed by searching for the device in the search field at the top of the window.
    Note: After a device is released, it must be erased and restored.

For more information on how to release devices in Apple Business Manager, visit the Apple Business Manager User Guide or the Apple School Manager User Guide

Deactivation steps for iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Tap [your name] > Find My.
  3. Tap Find My iPhone, then tap to turn it off.
  4. Enter your Apple ID password. Forgot your password?
  5. Tap Turn Off.
  6. If you no longer have access to your iPhone, you can remove a device from Find My iPhone on iCloud.com.
  7. More information: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT211149

Deactivation steps for Mac

  1. In the Find My app on your Mac, click Devices
  2. In the Devices list, select the device you want to remove
  3. Click the Info button on the map, then click Remove This Device.
  4. More information: https://support.apple.com/guide/findmy-mac/remove-a-device-fmm2832fb8f0/mac

Make sure that you turn off Find my device on your device before your return to the warehouse facility. Simply, sign out of iCloud and then erase all content and settings. This completely erases your device, removes it from your Apple ID, and turns off Find my device.

For iPhone, iPad and iPod touch:

Resetting your device will wipe the settings and data and return it to the exact state as when you first opened the box. You will want to make sure you back-up the device to iCloud before resetting it.

  1. Tap Settings > General > Reset
  2. Then tap Erase All Content and Settings. If asked, enter your passcode or Apple ID password.
  3. Then confirm that you want to erase your device.
  4. More information: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201274
For Mac
  • Start up from macOS Recovery.
    • Turn on your Mac and immediately press and hold these two keys: Command (⌘) and R. Need help?
    • Release the keys when you see an Apple logo, spinning globe, or other startup screen.
    • You might be prompted to enter a password, such as a firmware password or the password of a user who is an administrator of this Mac. Enter the requested password to continue.
  • Then select Disk Utility from the Utilities window and click Continue.
  • Choose View > Show All Devices from the menu bar in Disk Utility. The sidebar now shows your disks (devices) and any containers and volumes within them. The disk your Mac started up from is at the top of the list. In this example, Apple SSD is the startup disk:
  • Select the disk that you want to erase.
  • Click Erase, then complete these items:
    • Name: Type the name that you want the disk to have after you erase it.
    • Format: Choose APFS or Mac OS Extended (Journaled). Disk Utility shows a compatible format by default.
    • Scheme: Choose GUID Partition Map.
  • Click Erase to begin erasing your disk and every container and volume within it. You might be asked to enter your Apple ID. Forgot your Apple ID?
  • When done, quit Disk Utility.
  • If you want your Mac to be able to start up from the disk you erased, reinstall macOS on the disk.
  • More information: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208496

  1. Standard accessories pertaining to the base asset need to be returned. Chargers for MacBooks must be returned, all other devices may be returned without chargers. Note that you do NOT need to return ear-buds or manuals.
  2. Remove any proprietary labels, stickers or tags.

Please take special care when packaging devices so they are not damaged in shipping. The best advice is to secure the devices so that they remain completely immobile in the box.

Our recommended procedure is below:
  • Use a new box that will comfortably fit device(s), but is not overly large.
  • Fill half the box with packing material (crumpled newspaper works well).
  • Cover your device in several layers of bubble wrap to protect the screen and casing from impacts.
  • When shipping multiple devices, please place packaging material between each device. The packing material should form a dense buffer between the edge of the box and the edges of the devices.
  • Close the box and gently shake it to test your work. Ideally, your devices will remain completely immobile.
  • Tape the top of the box shut and attach your shipping label.

Grading & Damages

Equipment grading & damage guidelines

Grade Description
A Like new or light wear and tear. Fully functional, light surface and/or scratches but no dents/chips, battery not swollen and holds a charge, contains only genuine parts, and is not locked through ABM/ASM or Find My [Device].
B Severe wear and tear. Fully functional, heavy surface and/or scratches and/or minor dents/chips, battery not swollen and holds a charge, contains only genuine parts, and is not locked through ABM/ASM or Find My [Device].
C Non-functional or cannot be data-wiped. Not functional, cracked screen and/or and major dents/chips, swollen battery or does not hold a charge, contains non-genuine parts, and is locked through ABM/ASM or Find My [Device].

For a more detailed description, please view our complete grading table.


* Apple Financial Services is a program of De Lage Landen Pte. Limited (hereafter referred to as DLL). All information provided by DLL on or via the site(s) does not represent an offer or any kind of financial service. DLL cannot guarantee the information's accuracy or completeness. The information provided is general and may be changed at any time without further notice. The information provided does not confer any rights. DLL does not accept any liability for the content or for any information provided on or via the site(s).